Created by potrace 1.16, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2019
beatandraise
beta
Latest Financials
Filings:
By Category
By Date
Search Filings
Institutional Holders
beta
Earnings Transcripts
beta
Global Search
Company Exhibits:
Indentures
Material Contracts & Credit Agreements
Plans of Reorganization
Articles and Bylaws
Underwriting Agreements
SEC Edgar
SCOTTS MIRACLE-GRO CO
SIC 2870 · Agriculture Chemicals
Notes
Support
about
terms
Created by potrace 1.16, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2019
beatandraise.com
Created by potrace 1.16, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2019
beatandraise.com
beta
Latest Financials
Filings:
Category
Date
Search Filings
Institutional Holders
beta
Earnings Transcripts
beta
Global Search
SEC Edgar
SCOTTS MIRACLE-GRO CO
SIC 2870 · Agriculture Chemicals
Notes
Support
about
terms
Created by potrace 1.16, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2019
beatandraise.com
beta
Latest Financials
Filings:
Category
Date
Search Filings
Institutional Holders
beta
Earnings Transcripts
beta
Global Search
SEC Edgar
SCOTTS MIRACLE-GRO CO
SIC 2870 · Agriculture Chemicals
Notes
Support
about
terms
$
SMG
SCOTTS MIRACLE-GRO CO
CIK:
0000825542
|
SEC Filings
Income Statement
Cash Flow
Balance Sheet
v3.26.1
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations - USD ($)
shares in Millions, $ in Millions
3 Months Ended
9 Months Ended
Jun. 27, 2026
Jun. 28, 2025
Jun. 27, 2026
Jun. 28, 2025
Income Statement [Abstract]
Net sales
$ 1,172.1
$ 1,159.3
$ 2,986.1
$ 2,915.7
Cost of sales
805.0
784.6
1,918.5
1,903.8
Cost of sales—impairment, restructuring and other
1.2
2.0
2.5
8.6
Gross margin
365.9
372.7
1,065.1
1,003.3
Operating expenses:
Selling, general and administrative
145.6
144.8
450.7
436.2
Impairment, restructuring and other
47.0
(1.0)
51.0
25.9
Other expense, net
3.7
7.1
13.7
15.5
Income from operations
169.6
221.8
549.7
525.7
Equity in income of unconsolidated affiliates
(29.2)
(25.3)
(11.6)
(9.5)
Interest expense
28.0
31.8
86.5
102.2
Other non-operating expense, net
15.6
1.3
17.9
3.9
Income from continuing operations before income taxes
155.2
214.0
456.9
429.1
Income tax expense from continuing operations
51.6
59.3
137.8
119.7
Net income from continuing operations
103.6
154.7
319.1
309.4
Income (loss) from discontinued operations, net of tax
8.6
(5.6)
(93.3)
(12.3)
Net income
$ 112.2
$ 149.1
$ 225.8
$ 297.1
Basic net income (loss) per common share:
Income (loss) from continuing operations (USD per share)
$ 1.78
$ 2.68
$ 5.49
$ 5.38
Income (loss) from discontinued operations (USD per share)
0.15
(0.10)
(1.60)
(0.21)
Basic income (loss) per common share (USD per share)
1.93
2.58
3.89
5.17
Diluted net income (loss) per common share:
Income (loss) from continuing operations (USD per share)
1.75
2.64
5.40
5.28
Income (loss) from discontinued operations (USD per share)
0.15
(0.10)
(1.58)
(0.21)
Diluted income (loss) per common share (USD per share)
$ 1.90
$ 2.54
$ 3.82
$ 5.07
Weighted-average common shares outstanding during the period (in shares)
58.2
57.7
58.1
57.5
Weighted-average common shares outstanding during the period plus dilutive potential common shares (in shares)
59.2
58.6
59.1
58.6
v3.26.1
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows - USD ($)
$ in Millions
9 Months Ended
Jun. 27, 2026
Jun. 28, 2025
OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net income
$ 225.8
$ 297.1
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Impairment, restructuring and other
15.7
16.0
Share-based compensation expense
38.3
55.6
Depreciation
47.0
47.1
Amortization
4.2
9.4
Deferred taxes
115.3
76.5
Loss on sale of business
101.8
0.0
Unrealized loss on investments
15.7
0.0
Equity in income of unconsolidated affiliates
(11.6)
(9.5)
Changes in assets and liabilities, net of acquisitions and dispositions:
Accounts receivable
(552.1)
(395.2)
Inventories
61.1
42.5
Prepaid and other current assets
(2.6)
12.6
Accounts payable
83.7
14.7
Other current liabilities
39.6
38.7
Other non-current items
20.0
(6.1)
Other, net
(6.7)
(2.2)
Net cash provided by operating activities
195.2
197.2
INVESTING ACTIVITIES
Investments in property, plant and equipment
(63.1)
(54.5)
Net cash disposed of on sale of business
(35.0)
0.0
Other investing, net
(4.0)
(5.5)
Net cash used in investing activities
(102.1)
(60.0)
FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Borrowings under revolving and bank lines of credit and term loans
1,243.5
695.6
Repayments under revolving and bank lines of credit and term loans
(1,237.8)
(734.9)
Financing and issuance fees
(8.9)
0.0
Dividends paid
(116.3)
(116.2)
Purchase of Common Shares
(12.1)
(18.4)
Cash received from exercise of stock options
3.9
11.2
Other financing, net
25.9
4.5
Net cash used in financing activities
(101.8)
(158.2)
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash
(0.2)
0.5
Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents, including cash and cash equivalents classified within current assets held for sale
(8.9)
(20.5)
Less: Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents classified within current assets held for sale
(3.8)
2.3
Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents
(5.1)
(22.8)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period
32.8
62.4
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period
$ 27.7
$ 39.6
v3.26.1
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets - USD ($)
$ in Millions
Jun. 27, 2026
Sep. 30, 2025
Jun. 28, 2025
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents
$ 27.7
$ 32.8
$ 39.6
Accounts receivable, less allowances of $15.6, $13.3 and $10.5, respectively
713.0
160.8
545.7
Inventories
481.4
542.7
485.4
Current assets held for sale
0.0
84.8
108.6
Prepaid and other current assets
127.0
119.2
104.0
Total current assets
1,349.1
940.3
1,283.3
Investment in unconsolidated affiliates
65.2
53.6
65.9
Property, plant and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation of $864.9, $817.3 and $819.7, respectively
635.1
607.6
580.9
Goodwill
243.9
243.9
243.9
Intangible assets, net
350.1
352.0
352.6
Noncurrent assets held for sale
0.0
91.9
105.7
Other assets
524.0
452.7
458.3
Total assets
3,167.4
2,742.0
3,090.6
Current liabilities:
Current portion of debt
277.0
57.2
52.1
Accounts payable
310.3
221.4
246.3
Current liabilities held for sale
0.0
24.3
36.2
Other current liabilities
523.5
436.8
464.0
Total current liabilities
1,110.8
739.7
798.6
Long-term debt
1,836.3
2,049.2
2,136.2
Noncurrent liabilities held for sale
0.0
9.6
11.6
Other liabilities
429.0
301.0
315.1
Total liabilities
3,376.1
3,099.5
3,261.5
Commitments and contingencies
Equity (deficit):
Common Stock, Shares Issued, Not Disclosed
true
true
true
Number Of Authorized Shares Not Disclosed
true
true
true
Common shares and capital in excess of $0.01 stated value per share; shares outstanding of 58.2, 57.7 and 57.8, respectively
$ 350.1
$ 351.6
$ 347.3
Retained earnings
404.3
294.7
485.2
Treasury shares, at cost; 10.0, 10.4 and 10.4 shares, respectively
(857.1)
(894.1)
(895.9)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss
(106.0)
(109.7)
(107.5)
Total equity (deficit)
(208.7)
(357.5)
(170.9)
Total liabilities and equity (deficit)
$ 3,167.4
$ 2,742.0
$ 3,090.6